History of Ortega's Capistrano Trading Post
Ortega's Capistrano Trading Post is located across the street from the historic Mission San Juan Capistrano and itself has a rich history. The Old Mission Trading Post was originally built in 1947 by a former Hollywood art director named Henry Oliver. The Trading Post was operated by Sue DiMaio and built on the site of Fred Stoffel's former San Juan Inn Café - the first cafe in San Juan Capistrano. (pictured below - circa 1920’s)
The San Juan Café had also served as Fred Cason's movie house during the 1920s. The facade was changed in 1953 to the Western false front appearance it retains today. The trading post was purchased in 1987 by Bill Ortega who still operates it today. Mr. Ortega comes from a long family tradition of operating trading posts dating back to the mid-1800’s.
Mr. Ortega represents his family’s 7th generation of dealers in Native American Jewelry & Turquoise. The Trading Post today also offers San Juan Capistrano souvenirs, religious goods, artwork, crafts from local San Juan Capistrano artists and California Mission Collectibles.